Empty Hands. Many Gifts


I am coming home.

After six months of travel I am returning empty, but with many gifts.

I have.

Been woken in the middle of the night by call to prayer in Istanbul. Voices soaring as heaven speaks.

I have.

Felt tiny, wandering the Cappadocia moonscape and sat by the firelight in an ancient cave carved in rock. Rebetico song my lovely companion.

I have.

Danced under a dome near Antalya, my partners the sun, trees, a fortune teller, and a silent goddess divine swimming naked under the shadow of Mount Olympos. Electric fingers touch.

I have.

Slept in treehouses and cruised the lazy straits of Turkey with wandering Aussies.

I have.

Felt the relative oasis amongst the masses at karneval Berlin, dancing dragon perched in a tree, a sparrow my companion. And folk urinating below.

I have.

Been inside the most famous nightclub, returning in full blinding daylight feeling way too old for such things.

I have.

Spent a night in Hitlers holiday camp, freaking out and lost.

I have.

Walked amongst the tall grass in Dresden, sun setting, in silent confusion.

I have.

Danced naked in a torrential thunderstorm, with respectful Germans and excel-ent company. Free.

I have.

Cried at the sight of teabags lined neatly in a kitchen cupboard in Salzburg. In awe of the generosity and warm welcome of new friends.

I have.

Walked out of the middle of opera in Vienna and pumped iron like an Austrian terminator.

I have.

Danced with my dark shadow mask in Prague, cycled to a medieval castle, drunk schnapps with strangers on a train, given a surf lesson at a street food festival, bathed in freezing open air pools in a heat wave, and watched a movie in the open air by the river.

I have.

Felt my senses explode at a music festival in an abandoned mine in Ostrava.

I have.

Navigated the frustrations of Russian bureaucracy in obtaining a visa and travelled cross country without a passport.

I have.

Rested in the most welcoming, warm and friend-full hostel while trekking through the Tatra Mountains. With a brown, slightly smelly hot spring and waterslide thrown in.

I have.

Marvelled at Budapest illuminated at night, on the edge of glory looking out into a moment, full moon glowing.

I have.

No words to describe what I have seen, felt and shared in a tantra workshop near a lake by a peninsula.

I have.

Felt love awakened in all cells of my body in the stone jungle of St Petersburg. Cough. Convulse. Cry. Too beautiful.

I have.

Gone supermarket shopping for alien eggs and happy chickens and fed a radiant goddess.

I have.

Seen the sun set over the ancient Acropolis in Greece, spent seven hours in an archaeological museum in animated conversation with a good friend, reflected on the wisdom of times before modern religion and paid homage to Socrates in the birthplace of democracy.

I have.

Slept in a tent, mixed concrete, rode four on a scooter, climbed an ancient tree, sang Summer Lovin’, repaired a guitar (well mostly) on the Greek island of Rhodes.

I have.

Reunited with Aphrodite on the island of Paros, been victorious in not moving furniture, and felt her sky breathe waves into my sea.

I have.

Walked a candlelit labyrinth in silent prayer, with mirrors of Myself, conversing with the sand and stars.

I have.

Ridden a scooter around pagodas in Myanmar by the light of a full moon.


“I have.”


Let go of so many beauty-full moments, all too brief heart connections. While I have suffered the grief of a 100 goodbyes, I am grateful for the 100 sweet hellos.

Again, as I started my trip, I am keenly aware of what I leave behind, and step into the uncertainty of what is to come.

Did I find the rest, play and inspiration I was seeking? Did I find a clear vision of my next purpose?

Maybe. Maybe not.

We expect a lot from travel. And my quest started long before. All I know is that I am deeply grateful for the people I have met and the chance to move through the world with my growing love for, and prescence of my mind, heart and body.

This trip has been one sweet, occasionally hard fought honeymoon with Myself. Considering I could barely step outside my bedroom, I am happy that I was able to travel and see the honey moon on the other side of the world.

And as I continue to bring more love into my life, I will always remember and cherish these times as special.

thank you


“While I have suffered the grief of a 100 goodbyes, I am grateful for the 100 sweet hellos.”


One thought on “Empty Hands. Many Gifts

  1. Blessed to have shared a moment on your journey. Keep learning about yourself. To quote a great man “learning is experience, everything else is just information”. And on a more serious note, thanks for the intro to freestyle rapping, changed my life! 😉

Leave a Reply

